Thank God for Unanswered Prayers

Re-blogged from susanprestonauthor.com/blog

Thank God for unanswered prayers

That is what my funeral consultant said to me when she visited to sort out my plans.
No, she wasn’t saying that she had prayed for me to die and I had not. She was sharing an incident in her life. I think it is something many of us could relate to, I know I can.
cartoon elderly couple schoot reunionHer story was of attending a High School reunion and meeting the man who had been the object of her desire, in her youth. I know I could relate to fervent prayers for the ‘love’ of the young man.

(Actually, in Hold the Faith, Benjamin almost loses his faith when his desire for a young woman as his wife is thwarted by her father’s plans.)
Back to my funeral consultant… she laughed to think of how she agonized over this ‘love’… and saw the reality. An old, bald man.
Well, we all grow older, and some do become bald, or fat. Some become bitter, angry with what life has ‘dished’ out to them.
I had a few ‘crushes’ in my younger years. Who knows what would have developed. I have no complaints about my ‘lot’ – I do miss my very special husband, but have a store of good memories.

For I know the thoughts I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.
Jeremiah 29: 11

Perhaps a bit difficult to accept amongst the hormones of adolescence, but God DOES have plans for us. Sometimes they are a long time in arriving. Sometimes that is part of the preparation process.

cartoon, bad-temper
And it is not only being ‘rescued’ from a relationship that would have been disastrous… what about the job that would have been a catastrophe? Maybe the supervisor would have been picky and quarrelsome… or perhaps the company would have gone ‘bust’, leaving you older and with fewer job prospects.
There have been reports of someone missing a plane – or train… and being spared death.
So – thank You, Father for unanswered prayers. And please help me to remember I said that LOL.

To be ready for the future and the hope – we need to be in the ‘space’ where we can appreciate it… recognize it.

Musing again,
Susan

2 thoughts on “Thank God for Unanswered Prayers

  1. David

    So true Susan, sometimes it’s better to not get what we wish for. We truly need to in Faith accept God’s Loving Guiding Leading Hand in our lives and be willing to accept what He gives.

    • susanprestonbooks

      I totally agree 🙂 – and it is great to hear from you. The weeks are flying by – but I have been caught up finishing my 3rd book… and doing my website.
      Hop over to susanprestonauthor.com – the photo on the front page is (I think) awesome. Bioluminensce in Tasmania. (i have permission to use it.)

Leave a comment