Christians, what are they like?

Conversation, cartoon

I had a very interesting conversation with someone very special to me recently. He was trying to help me see a problem in a different light. At one point it came…

“The trouble with you Christians…”

As I listened I was saddened by the evaluation of Christians. (And probably I fitted many of the categories at various times in the past.)

So, I was thinking about the conversation on my long bus ride back from the hospital where I had gone for my annual scan of the aneurysm and graft.

One of the charges laid was that we ‘Christians’ believe that only we will go to heaven (the saved) and all the rest will go to hell (the dammed).

Harsh list of basic Christian beliefs.

If this is what he thinks I believe then no wonder he was not ‘happy’ with my beliefs.

This is not what the Bible teaches.

I do not believe I will go to heaven when I die. I believe that I will ‘sleep’ awaiting the resurrection. (And that is a line I had put on my husband’s plaque… we both believe/d that.)

(I am satisfied with the many scriptures that back it up – but do not have the space here to list them, and it would take this off-topic anyway.)

Another ‘charge’ was about Christians being judgmental. Some examples were given, and they had merit.

Jesus had something to say on that..

Judge not, that ye be not judged.  Matthew 7:1

And the reason…

For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again. Matthew 7: 2

And… look to yourself…pot calling kettle black, image

And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye? Matthew 7: 3

 

I think it is ‘human nature’ to pass judgments, but Christians are supposed to ‘be putting on Christ’ and there are many admonitions in the New Testament about ‘putting off the old man’, (human nature).

In summary, I know my learned friend (and I mean that in a sincere manner) will be able to ‘blow holes’ in what I have quoted.

However, I judge my own behaviour. I am answerable for what I do. I am not called to ‘pick holes’ in what others do.

So, what is a Christian like?

This is not something I can answer, I can only say what/Who they are supposed to be like… the One they name themselves for, Christ.

Christ served.

God first, then His fellow man.

That is what I aim for.

Serve image

And before those of you who know me burst out laughing, or I face a forest of fingers pointing at me… I said it is what I aim for. I have a long way to go.

Tread softly

feet and butterfly image

       

                Susan

Leave a Reply

