Love neigbour quote, CS Lewis

Loving neighbours

I have been re-listening to messages heard at the recent Feast of Tabernacles I attended. One of the speakers outlined what ‘love your neighbour’ meant.

Hearing it again was timely.

Here in Western Australia, although not officially summer yet, the weather is warming up. The washing that I put on the line an hour and a half ago, is probably dry.

The back door is open as the sun has not come around to that side of the house yet and I wanted some fresh air indoors. Therein lies the problem. One of my neighbours, two units down from me, is on the phone. Even though I have a hearing problem, I can hear him talking. If I put my hearing aids in, I could probably make out what he is saying… and I am a room at the far side of my unit, well away from the door.

Shouting down phoneSome people, it seems, shout down the phone instead of trusting the telephone wires to take the conversation to the other person.

It is annoying because he does this regularly.

 

Quoting from the message I heard, “Loving your neighbour is more than wishing him well. It is actively working for his benefit.”

This person is not someone I would feel comfortable enough to talk to about it, so how do I actively work for his benefit?

drawing of hands in prayer

When stuck, take it to God. And since this man has done this all along, he is unlikely to change. So, I guess I need to pray for the patience and understanding to cope with it. After all, it is only the start of the warm season here, so I will want my door open.

 

I guess another way I can be actively working for his good, is not to discuss or complain to other neighbours. (And if they say something to me, then ask if they have approached him about it. That tends to nip gossip in the bud.)

Extend to him the grace that was extended to me…

And you He made alive, who were dead in trespasses and sins, in which you formerly walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, of the spirit who now works in the sons of disobedience. Among whom also we all once conducted ourselves, fulfilling the lusts of the flesh and of the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, even as the rest.
Ephesians 2: 1 – 3 New King James version

Sometimes we need to remember that we are not ‘complete’, nor are we so important that others should fit our expectations.

Love neigbour quote, CS Lewis

Just my thinkings,

Susan

 

Leave a Reply

