face hidden in dots, cartoon

The Bible Says

 

It was on the news, then later it was replayed as part of a panel discussion.

I am not sure how to best describe my reaction. It was a mixture of many emotions.

So what was it?

The leader of the federal Opposition Party in Australia made a speech to the Australian Christian Lobby. One of the things he said was…

face hidden in dots, cartoon“When I see people hiding behind the Bible to insult and demonise people based on their sexuality, I cannot stay silent.”

You might have guessed, it was on the issue of ‘gay marriage’.

The Opposition leader said that he was a Christian.

“These prejudices do not reflect the Christian values that I believe in. I think they paint the accusers as people who would rather judge than understand.”

All that concerns me in this issue is – does he, or others who take this stance, actually read the Bible, or know what it says?

Not everyone who believes in the truth of the Bible is homophobic.

The fact remains that the Bible does say it is sin.

I found the quote below to be quite interesting. (It is part of a much longer article)

The Bible’s view of homosexuality is not politically correct. The politically correct view is that there is nothing wrong with two people just loving each other.  Who are we Christians to judge them?  But, who are they to say what is morally right and wrong?  Do they have an objective standard of morals that all people should follow?  No, they don’t.  They appeal to things like “society” and “common sense” and “basic rights,” etc., to promote their opinion of homosexual normality.  Well, societies have been wrong before (Nazi Germany, anyone?).  What is common sense to one person isn’t necessarily common sense to another.  And, basic rights?  Well, we all have basic rights.  But, the homosexuals want special rights.  They want laws passed to protect their sexual behavior. They also want to redefine marriage and require everyone else to accept it! (Will the redefinition stop with homosexual marriage? Don’t bet on it…
http://carm.org/bible-homosexualityten commandments

My reading of the Bible agrees that homosexuality is a sin. However, let’s not go ‘overboard’ and point out this one area of wrong-doing. Murder is a sin, as is adultery and fornication, lying, stealing, coveting and idolatry are all sins according to my Bible.

I haven’t noticed an Adulterer’s Lobby, or parliament being stormed by people demanding the right to lie… Oh, sorry, in most people’s view the politicians have made a ‘art’ of lying. Enough said. But the LGBT lobby makes a lot of ‘noise’.

One of the panelists on the show I saw a fragment of, posed the question, “Would the Opposition Leader have made the same speech to one of the Muslim lobby groups.” The consensus was that he would not.

On a different note… there is an amusing video clip that has been around for years…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XL7qTfXnm8U

And no. I am not homophobic. Over the long years of my life, I have worked with and enjoyed the company of people who were homosexual or lesbian. They didn’t push their preferences ‘down my throat’, and we were able to appreciate each other as intelligent human beings.

Let me close with Jesus’ words to the woman caught in adultery…

“…And Jesus said to her, Neither do I condemn you: go, and sin no more”
John 8: 11

Just thinking

Susan

2 thoughts on “The Bible Says

  1. Clare Flourish

    Hello Susan.

    We see that some churchpeople are homophobic from their actions. For example, they oppose equal marriage, while not opposing the marriage of divorced people. Nothing in the Bible tells you to look at what you think are the sins of non-Christians, and get all steamed up about it- quite the opposite, in fact. The emotional basis of the reaction shows homophobia.

    That CARM quote is a case in point. First they compare the gays to Nazis, then they start objecting to gay unions being recognised by the state just like straight unions are. “Special rights” they whinge.

    God bless you.

    • susanprestonbooks

      I ‘read’ the reference to the ‘Nazis’ differently. I don’t see it as a comparison to the gays, but as an observation of the ‘spirit of the times’. The whole issue of ‘equal marriage’ is a very divisive issue. I do see the homosexual practice as sin, but do not see that attacking them does anything productive. When I was a child, attacking me was not a good way to cause me to change my behaviour 🙂
      Many ‘common practices’ nowadays are seen as acceptable, but in the eyes of God, according to His word, are sin. But I am not going around with a placard, condemning them. My role is to watch my own behaviour. (There are many scriptures I could quote that tell me that, whilst recognising sin, as defined in the Bible, my behaviour is what I should be working on.)
      God bless you.

Leave a Reply

