Count it all Joy…

When things go wrong from a human point of view…

  • Is this possible to count it all joy?
  • Does it mean ALL?

I have heard in some church messages that there are blessings in trials… Hello?

How can this be? It is the opposite to what many churches teach.

Psalm cattle on a thousand hills50: 10 My Father owns the cattle on a thousand hills…”

·

Luke 6: 38 Give and it will be given to you…”

Mmm.

At the same time there are also scriptures that say

James 1:12 ESV Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him.

Romans 12:12 ESV Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.

So what do we believe?

An old ‘British saying’ “When in doubt, say nought” (Sounds like a Yorkshire saying actually.) But for Christians we have to look to the Bible for answers. But what happens when it looks like  the sayings contradict one another?

Psalm 50: 10 – God created all things, so He owns a lot more than the God created all things imagecattle on a thousand hills.

What does that have to do with us not having trials?

Nothing. It merely states a fact…

Luke 6: 38 – well this has several counterparts. One of which is…

Psalm 79:12 Pay back into the laps of our neighbours seven times the contempt they have hurled at you, Lord.

So, it is not altogether a promise of blessings.

By the way, I am on this subject because of all the complications that have arisen following the death of my husband. (Read ‘trials’ rather than complications.)

There is no blessing in losing the person you love… anyone who has lost a spouse or a child could attest to that. Or is there?

I have had three months to consider this.

Geoff's Last Journeyings

·

As I have written “Geoff’s Last Journeyings’ (a work still in progress) I have seen the many ways in which we were blessed. It did not change the end result, but it made the ‘getting there’ better in the long run.

·

As we approach the season to remember Christ’s sacrifice for each one of us, individually, consider this…

Hanging by his arms, the pectoral muscles are paralyzed and the intercostal muscles are unable to act. Air can be drawn into the lungs, but cannot be exhaled. Jesus fights to raise Himself in order to get even one short breath. Finally, carbon dioxide builds up in the lungs and in the blood stream and the cramps partially subside. Spasmodically, he is able to push Himself upward to exhale and bring in the life-giving oxygen.
A physician’s view of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ

Knowing the difficulty our Saviour would have had in breathing comforted me as I watched, unable to help,  as my precious husband was ‘smothered’ by his lungs. So too did the scripture that we are not given more than we can bear. So as I prayed in the time my husband was dying, I quoted God’s word back to Him, and trusted that He was with Geoff in his struggle.

As for me… many others have walked this path before me. As I struggle to adapt to life without this special man, I have to remember this –

1 Corinthians 10:13 ESV No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

I guess I could read ‘no trial’, and ‘will not let you be tested’ in this. So I looked it up and found…

No trial has overtaken you that is not faced by others. And God is
faithful: He will not let you be tried beyond what you are able to bear,
but with the trial will also provide a way out so that you may be able
to endure it. NET Bible

With the support of other widows; of God’s ministers; my scattered brethren and family, I plod on. Considering the sacrifice Christ made for me, how could I do otherwise?

Susan

One thought on “Count it all Joy…

Leave a Reply

