What can I offer God?

Yes, what can I offer God that He does not already have?

He owns the cattle on a thousand hills

The cattle on a thousand hill are Mine

I shall take no young bull out of your house Nor male goats out of your folds. For every beast of the forest is Mine, The cattle on a thousand hills. “I know every bird of the mountains, And everything that moves in the field is Mine.  If I were hungry I would not tell you, For the world is Mine, and all it contains.…
Psalm 50: 9 – 12

He does not need me to build Him anything…

Thus says the Lord, “Heaven is My throne and the earth is My footstool. Where then is a house you could build for Me? And where is a place that I may rest? For My hand made all these things, Thus all these things came into being,” declares the Lord.
Isaiah 66. 1,2

Stephen quoted it to the Sanhedrin…

Stephen before the SanhedrinHowever, the Most High does not dwell in houses made by human hands; as the prophet says: ‘Heaven is my throne, and earth is the footstool of my feet; what kind of house will you build for me?’ says the Lord, ‘or what place is there for my repose? Was it not my hand which made all these things?’
Acts 7: 48 – 50

So, again I ask myself… what can I give God that He does not already have?

Me.

Me?

Yes, me.choices

God gave each of us free will. The right to choose if we would follow Him, or follow the world’s way.  (You can choose to offer you.)

It sounds simple, but it is not. There are so many things that come up in everyday life that we automatically respond to. Do we think what we are saying with that response?

In Deuteronomy God tells us to ‘choose life’.

I call heaven and earth to witness against you today, that I have set before you life and death, the blessing and the curse. So choose life in order that you may live, you and your descendants,
Deuteronomy 30: 19

Maybe we should think about those previously automatic responses. What are they telling God? Whose way are we choosing?

The one and only thing any of us can give God is ourselves. We show this in the choices we make and the words we speak, as well as the promises in our prayers.

Just ‘thinking on these things’.

Susan

Leave a Reply

