Singing…

Create in me a clean heart o God image

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.
Ps 51: 10 – 12

So goes the choir music my husband is practicing, but it is also a section of a much longer psalm, a psalm of repentance. I have been listening to my husband practice… and can agree with the request… create in me a clean heart.

singing with gustoThis set me off at a tangent. (Does not take much ) I remembered many years ago, in a different church, one of my favourite hymns was ‘Spirit of the Living God, fall fresh on me.” It was a beautiful melody, and my not to good musical ability either managed it, or people were too kind to tell me. One day, singing with gusto, I heard the words… and what I was inviting God to do. ‘”Break me, meld me, mould me, fill me.”… Mmm. Did I really want that?

This brought me to the thought. How many of us actually think about the words we sing? A catchy tune, a reverent tone, a pleasant rhythm… but what about the words?

David’s psalm was a heartfelt plea to God for forgiveness after the prophet Nathan had come to confront him with what he had done over Bathsheba.

Take my life and let it be... music sheet imageHere is another hymn…

Take my life and let it be, consecrated Lord to Thee

If you have ever sung this hymn, have you thought about what it meant?

I looked up a consecrated life…

What makes the consecrated life a more exacting way of Christian living is the public vows or other sacred bonds whereby the consecrated persons commit themselves, for the love of God, to observe as binding the counsels of chastity, poverty and obedience from the Christian  Gospel…
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Consecrated_life

Forgive my naïveté, but chastity and obedience is part of what is explained in counselling for baptism. Nor did I realise before there were more than one way of Christian living. The quote above states that a consecrated life is a more exacting way of Christian living.  A Christian, to my understanding, is a follower of Christ. A follower lives as He lives. (To the best of his or her ability.)

consecrated life, image

We need to think if we really mean it if we sing… ‘Take my life and let it be, consecrated Lord to Thee’ – or any of the other hymns that are offering ourselves in service.

Mmm… all from listening to my husband practice his choir music. God works in mysterious ways to gain our attention.

Susan

Leave a Reply

