Judging

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth wearing a headscarf

The Queen wears a headscarf

I have had some interesting experiences in the last few weeks.  Since having my hair spiral permed, the weather has been ‘wild’. My perm looked lovely when it hung… a bit like the old-fashioned ringlets. But windblown? Not so nice, and especially since I choose to stay with the hair colour that has taken years to perfect… gray.

wild, windblown hair

Heading out in the wind for many appointments, I arrived at my destination feeling that I must look like one of the witches from Macbeth . My husband assured me that I did not. But my concern remained.

Headscarf!

When I was growing up in Scotland, my mother and many others, including the Queen, wore headscarves. The idea of these was to keep the hair tidy.idea cartoon

Aha! This was what I needed.

·

However, in Australia in the 21st century, it seems headscarves to keep the hair tidy  have  long gone out of fashion.

Discovery…

Walking through a local shopping centre, I saw on one of those  temporary stalls, something that looked like it could be adapted as a headscarf. Joy oh joy… and an end to wild hair.

The scarf was (and is) lovely. The girl who sold it to me said it was to be worn around the neck, filling in low necklines. That was not my purpose, but it looked good, so I bought it.

It seems though, that in Western Australia, in 2013 the only people who wear headscarves are Islamic women. So I have been on the receiving end of some very strange looks from Australians.

When I reached the front of a queue to ‘check in’ at a hospital, suddenly all four receptionists were busy at the long desk they sat at. They had no one in front of them, but they started shuffling papers, or picked up a phone and made a call. The queue behind me grew longer, and eventually one of the receptionists called me up.

Interestingly, after that happened, the other three were also free, and called the people behind me.

Susan Prestn wearing a headscarf·

Perhaps it is funny… an older woman with a pretty pink headscarf, talking with a Scots accent (and my husband and I do talk a lot).

I shudder to think how I would have been regarded had I worn a burqa.

Although I nowhere near ‘walked in the shoes’ of the Moslem women in the area I live in,  it was close enough to experience suspicion and, in some cases, dislike.

Therefore, I I have to ask myself, in what ways do I pre-judge others? The street person? The person of a different culture? Someone in my church?

In fact, who am I judging? It should only be myself.

As far as others are concerned, we  are told to ‘evaluate’ their fruits, and live our own  lives as God would have us do.

Evaluation and judgment…

What a fine line!

We evaluate what we see, what we hear, and keep this in mind.

On the other hand, when we judge… we act on a preconceived opinion. All Moslems/blacks/aboriginals/whites are… fill in the blanks.

We must evaluate, person by person, situation by situation.

Never forgetting that we are also told to judge not… lest we be judged.

Just sharing an experience,

read-softly-because-you-tread-on-my-dreams

Tread softly, you may be treading on someone’s dreams

·

Susan

Susan

One thought on “Judging

  1. Patty B

    I too miss wearing scarves, actually the last time I wore one was 12 yrs ago – after going through chemo and losing my hair I used to it to keep my wig in place when it was windy! Gives new meaning to keeping your hair tidy doesn’t it?! lol My mom would always wear one and I have always liked them – umm – maybe I too will start a new tradition here in the States.

Leave a Reply

