Church history, useful or not?

newsletters

I receive a lot of e-mail newsletters 🙂

·

Of late when I was ‘under the pump’ finishing off Grow in Grace, I did not have time to read them all. Since it was published, I have been trying to work my way through them. I found the comment below interesting. It is part of a longer section but, in view of the fact that both my novels are on based early church history, I was interested.

We 21st century Christians often believe that current, modern, present ideas about God and interpretations of Scripture deserve to trump those from the past.

Thus how earlier believers have interpreted Scripture and understood the Christian faith is not only ignored, but actively overcome. And part of the resulting fallout is a belief that studying Church history is a pointless waste of time.
Koinonia newsletter

Bible image, words church history

I guess, because I have long been interested in church history, I find it peculiar that some would think modern ideas would ‘trump’ those of the past.

Surely, early church practices were ‘purer’ in that the apostles had ‘walked with’ Christ and been taught directly by Him.

There are so many ways in which many of our current beliefs have been ‘syncretised’ with other faiths. I do not want to single out any faith; we all have areas where our faiths are not as ‘pure’ as they could be, but I would like to mention…

In this manner, therefore, pray; Our Father….Matthew 6: 9a

“…Most assuredly, I say to you, whatever you ask the Father in My name…” John 16: 23

So, our prayers can be simple… to the Father, in the name of the Son. We do not need to work out which ‘saint’ we need to go through, cast spells or read the entrails of animals. (Praise God.)

We are told to go direct to the Father,.

I know there are many with different beliefs, some look to ‘mother earth’, the stars, the moon, dolphins etc. (I was fascinated by some of those in my younger days.)

To paraphrase Lord of the Rings… “One God to rule them all…”

There is an interesting scripture; I reproduce part of it below. About wood…

Then it becomes fuel for a man. He takes a part of it and warms himself; he kindles a fire and bakes bread. Also he makes a god and worships it; he makes it an idol and falls down before it. Half of it he burns in the fire. Over the half he eats meat; he roasts it and is satisfied. Also he warms himself and says, “Aha, I am warm, I have seen the fire!” And the rest of it he makes into a god, his idol, and falls down to it and worships it. He prays to it and says, “Deliver me, for you are my god!” They know not, nor do they discern, for he has shut their eyes, so that they cannot see, and their hearts, so that they cannot understand. No one considers, nor is there knowledge or discernment to say, “Half of it I burned in the fire; I also baked bread on its coals; I roasted meat and have eaten. And shall I make the rest of it an abomination? Shall I fall down before a block of wood?”  Isa 44: 15 – 20

By the way… the rest of the article quoted at the start, went on to say why we SHOULD study church history.

1st century challenges, modern teaching

Some thoughts,

Susan

Leave a Reply

