Thought provoking. Great exercise.

a Journal of Missional Living

Choose one word to be your theme for the year.

This seemingly simple challenge, from Amy in her recent blog, sent my mind off in search of a word to describe my hopes and passions for this year.

I reflected on my recent past. Pondered my responsibilities at work and home. Glanced the books stacked on my desk. Considered the labors that bring joy to my heart.

I arrived at my word: SENT

I want to live as a sent person this year. The verb gives a sense of motion; but it is purposeful motion. Furthermore, being sent implies a sender.

Jesus said, “Peace be with you! As the Father has sent me, I am sending you.”
(John 20:21)

Defining SENT

Merlin2525_Sent_Business_Stamp_2Sent is used 79 times in the New Testament. It means to be dispatched, transmitted, permitted to go.

As Jesus was to his disciples in 1st century Jerusalem…

View original post 240 more words

One thought on “

  1. Pikalaina Kaikki

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you
    may be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and
    will often come back very soon. I want to encourage you continue your great job, have
    a nice morning!

Leave a Reply

